Soups On!

Every now and then I discover a new soup recipe or in this case create one of my very own.  A little over ten years ago, I found a recipe for potato soup in an old cookbook.  I used the basic ingredients and instructions and added some more ingredients to create a soup similar to ones that we would order from a restaurant.  It became an instant success!  Brian convinced me into entering that recipe in a local newspapers’ recipe contest.  Low and behold, that recipe won the overall grand prize of the contest!  I still make this yummy soup for my family a few times a year. (yes, I will share this recipe very soon)

I had not entered any other recipe contests until last year when I found another recipe for a soup that I thought I would try to make it my own.  This time, it was for black bean soup.  After tasting this soup, Brian said that it was another winner.  I entered the recipe and waited to see if I would get the call that my recipe had been chosen.  Luckily, I got the call!   This time the contest also featured a tasting of each persons recipes.  We were then able to taste, judge and vote on our favorites.  There were so many good recipes.  I was just thrilled to be able to have my recipe published in the paper, that I didn’t care if I won or not.  A couple of days later, the newspaper notified me that my black bean soup was the winner for its category!  (this recipe will soon be posted too)

It didn’t take me another ten years to come across another instant favorite soup recipe.  Shortly after the recipe contest and tasting last winter, I came up with this soup recipe on my own.  I had searched several cookbooks and websites and still couldn’t quite find a recipe that I liked.  I decided that I had wanted a creamy chicken soup with wild rice.  After I had the basics decided, I added what I thought would round out the soup.  I also wanted a soup that didn’t have alot of prep time or that was very difficult, because if it has too many ingredients or difficult instructions I’m most likely never going to want to make it.  It turns out that this is the simplest soup recipe that I have made yet.  It is now that time of year to start submitting recipes to the local newspaper’s contest.  My taste-testers gave this soup the thumbs up the first time they tried it.  I just entered this recipe into the contest today and I couldn’t wait to share it with everyone.  Here’s how the recipe goes:

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

2 Chicken Breasts, cooked and cut into bite sized pieces (I like to use bone in and skin on and I bake them in the oven at 350 degrees for about an hour, until golden brown)

2 Stalks of Celery, diced

2 Carrots, diced

1 large family size can of Cream of Chicken Soup

1 box of Uncle Ben’s Long Grain and Wild Rice, original recipe- prepare according to instructions

1-2 cans of milk (depending on preferred thickness)

1 Tablespoon margarine

Salt & Pepperto taste

 

Cooking instructions:

In large pot, saute’ celery and carrots in melted margarine, until tender.

Add cream of chicken soup to vegetable mixture, stir until well combined.

Add milk, chicken, rice, salt and pepper.

Simmer for at least 30 minutes before serving, being careful not to bring to a full boil, stirring occasionally.

I prefer to put the soup into a crock pot and cook on low heat, stirring occasionally, for a few hours instead of simmering on top of the stove.

Makes 8-10 servings.

Here’s hoping that this recipe will be chosen this year.  I’ll keep you posted!!

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Soups On!

  1. This looks DELICIOUS. I wonder if I could substitute big hunks of mushrooms and cream of mushroom soup… Worth a shot! (Good luck in the contest! I can’t wait to hear the results!)

  2. Angela, you could absolutely do this. As a matter of fact, *I* am going to try that! That sounds wonderful. I think button mushrooms, portobella and crimini would be good. I love mushrooms!

Leave a Reply

