Six Weeks

It has been nearly six weeks since I’ve made a post and that’s entirely too long.  What have you been up to in the past six weeks?  For me, the past six weeks have flown by!  We celebrated Brian’s 40th birthday, school started and it is going well.  Eli’s courses are: Intro to Psychology, Intro to Medicine, Algebra I, 20th Century Music, English (which includes literature, grammar, vocab and spelling), and American Government.  I cannot believe that he is a freshman this year.  We also  attended the wedding of a dear cousin, Abby and her husband, Justin.  I wish them well!   We’ve had two big trees cut down from our back yard, and I’ve read, “The Help”, and “A Raisin in the Sun”.  I’ve also kept myself busy with various other things that life hands me.  Somehow, the days fly by and before you know it, six weeks have passed. 

What are you going to be doing six weeks from now?  Besides the given daily tasks and everyday life, I am not really sure what I will be doing either.  The one thing that I do know what I will be doing is making more of my “six week muffins”. (If they’ve not all been baked and eaten by then)

 

I wanted to share this muffin recipe with everyone.  It is simple to make and is a great breakfast, snack, dessert, you name it!  Here is what you’ll need to make these muffins:

  • 1  15 ounce package Raisin Bran Cereal
  • 3 cups of Sugar
  • 1 quart of milk
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 1 (15-17 ounce) can of fruit cocktail, drained
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 5 cups all purpose flour
  • 5 tsp. baking soda
  • 4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice (optional)

In very large bowl, mix all ingredients together.  Bake in greased muffin tin at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

This recipe is very forgiving.  Instead of vegetable oil, I use canola oil.  I also use light fruit cocktail instead of fruit cocktail in heavy syrup.  I also like to add pumpkin pie spice in addition to the cinnamon.  Pumpkin Pie Spice has cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and allspice.  It gives the muffins a little more spice and the aroma that fills your house while you are baking these is amazing! 

You can also add your favorite sugar substitute for all or half of the recipe instead of all sugar.

You may be thinking that this sounds like a huge amount of ingredients and it is, but it keeps well in the refrigerator for up to 6 weeks!  I look ahead and see what the date for six weeks from today is and mark it on a piece of masking tape and attach that to the container that I put the muffin batter in.  Can you believe that it will be November 21, the week of Thanksgiving?? 

I promise that it will not take six weeks for me to post another recipe.  I’ve got many great recipes lined up to share!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

